RSS

New Beginnings Again

01 Apr

I’m left once again pondering on new beginnings. I think there must be chapters to life and I feel as though I am about to write the final words of a very significant chapter in my own life.

And I just want to say that this has been the greatest chapter of my life. I have loved my mission so very much. There are surely no words that one can employ to describe such an experience. It is unlike anything else in this world. I didn’t realize that my Heavenly Father loved me so much to the point that he would give me such a wonderful experience.

I didn’t expect what has happened. I really do understand what Elder Holland meant when he described the mission as a miracle. I feel like a new person. I’ve started over. I’m starting to understand that repentance is a beautiful thing. I’ve seen it in the lives of others and I’m seeing it in my own life.

I love the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It is a message of new beginnings. I know that it is true. I know that Jesus Christ accomplished his mission on this Earth in atoning for our sins and defeating death. He is the Light, the Truth and the Way. I know that he loves us for we are all children of a Heavenly Father. I know that God and His Son appeared to a young boy of fourteen-years in answer to an honest and sincere prayer; and in so doing they accomplished prophecy. I know that today we live in the latter-days, the final dispensation. We have the Gospel of Jesus Christ in its fullness. We are in the days that the prophets of old dreamed of. Have you ever thought about that? I know that the Book of Mormon is true. I read Mormon’s final words this morning. I know that those words were written for me and my family. What a blessing it is to have that book in my life.

I know that God is in this work and that Christ walks beside his righteous missionaries. I’m ending my service as a missionary. I’m so sad to leave. It’s harder to end your mission than it is to start it.

And so I’m off to the next beginning–another chapter. I just hope to live true to these last two years for the rest of my life and then after.

Love,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2013 in Mission

 

One response to “New Beginnings Again

  1. Michael Helvey

    April 1, 2013 at 6:47 am

    I can’t believe he is coming home! You are a good man and a good missionary. Your family should be proud of the great things you have done. I’m excited to see you Elder Marquez. Anytime you feel like coming up to Utah to visit people, you are welcome to stay with us!

     

Leave a Reply

 
