RSS

“Why Am I Calling You?”

14 Jan

That start of another transfer…. again! Yay! But, just because we need a little variety, this transfer is five weeks rather than the normal six! It’s actually because the MTC is now on a new schedule since the flood of new missionaries are just starting their missions. So to coordinate better with them, this transfer is five weeks long.

I’m staying in St. Nazaire with Elder Fuller. We’re excited because there are currently two people we’re working with who have said they’ll be baptized. Lucky us, we’ll both be here for the baptisms. As far as other aspects of the work go, we’re still finding people, but a lot of the people we’ve found lately have seen us once or twice and then just disappear. But that happens a lot so I guess I should be used to it by now.

We had one small experience, though. This last Thursday during district meeting we talked a lot about our desire to help others come unto Christ. That night when Elder Fuller and I went porting, we decided to knock doors in an apartment building. Before starting, we said a prayer. I was the one saying the prayer, and as I was saying it, I felt impressed that we would be let in by someone there. The third door we knocked on let us in! We taught a man who used to be very believing and practicing until recently. He has a family too. The others in the family said they weren’t interested, but they sat there eavesdropping on the lesson. So hopefully those are good signs for the future.

Also had a cool experience this morning. Our phone is really soft to hear and as we were cleaning the apartment, I was listening to some general conference talks. Over the audio, I barely made out the sound of the phone. I saw that we had a private number calling us. I picked it up and a woman replied from the other line.

“Hi, I talked to you guys in the grocery store once and you gave me your card and…. I don’t really know why I’m calling you.”

“Do you want to talk to us? We can set up a rendez-vous,” I asked.

“Yes. I want to do that. I’ve been having nightmares lately.”

So we set it up for tomorrow. Not sure what to make of it exactly. She’ll either be super cool or super interesting. Haha. We’ll see what happens. I just thought is was cool and funny. “I don’t really know why I’m calling you.” I do!

And last night I was just thinking about all the people I’ve met on my mission and all the people who I’ve gotten to teach. I thought a lot of those who’ve been baptized too. I’m so lucky to get to serve here in the France Paris mission. My mission has been perfect thus far and I expect it will be to the end. I just love being here. :)

Love,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Mission

 

One response to ““Why Am I Calling You?”

  1. Wade McGregor

    January 14, 2013 at 8:32 am

    Dear Elder Marquez,
    I am always inspired by your zeal for the work of the Lord. Thank you for sharing your experiences through your blog. You probably won’t recognize your brother, Anthony, when you return. He looked so sharp in his new suit, yesterday, and he is getting much taller. With his new glasses, he looks a lot like Ray. Keep the faith and keep up the good works.
    Have a great day,
    Wade

     

Leave a Reply

 
