RSS

The Christmas Spirit

17 Dec

I like this poem that President Monson shared by E.C. Baird:

I am the Christmas Spirit
I enter the home of poverty, causing pale-faced children to open their eyes wide, in pleased wonder.
I cause the miser’s clutched hand to relax and thus paint a bright spot on his soul.
I cause the aged to renew their youth and to laugh in the old glad way.
I keep romance alive in the heart of childhood, and brighten sleep with dreams woven of magic.
I cause eager feet to climb dark stairways with filled baskets, leaving behind hearts amazed at the goodness of the world.
I cause the prodigal to pause a moment on his wild, wasteful way and send to anxious love some little token that releases glad tears—tears which wash away the hard lines of sorrow.
I enter dark prison cells, reminding scarred manhood of what might have been and pointing forward to good days yet to be.
I come softly into the still, white home of pain, and lips that are too weak to speak just tremble in silent, eloquent gratitude.
In a thousand ways, I cause the weary world to look up into the face of God, and for a little moment forget the things that are small and wretched.
I am the Christmas Spirit. ”

Merry Christmas! :)

Love,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Mission

 

One response to “The Christmas Spirit

  1. yard dumpster

    February 18, 2013 at 1:47 am

    Genuinely when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it takes place.

     

Leave a Reply

 
