RSS

Go West, young man!

03 Dec

It has gotten wwaaaaaaayyyyy ttooooo cold this last week. I keep telling people that and they tell me that I haven’t experienced cold yet. They forget I was here last year too! And I know it’s going to keep getting colder. But it’s still too cold. This morning it was four degrees. I thought I was going to die. Thank goodness for radiators. Yesterday it hit freezing point. It started snowing during church. The first snow!

So the big news is that I am leaving Valenciennes! The transfer has ended and thus begins my next one. I don’t want to remember which one I’m in so I won’t say which. Hehehe.

“Go West, young man!”

I’m off to a place called St. Nazaire. I’m going from the North of France to the West of France (not the farthest point West, though. There’s even westerner villes), on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. I’ve no idea what the weather will be like. Here in the North it rains a lot. There, not sure. I’m sure it’ll still be cold.

As for Valenciennes, Elder Kendall is staying behind. I think he’ll do a good job. He seems to really get missionary work. I’m proud of the progress he’s made during the last twelve weeks. He’ll do good in the future. I’m sad to say goodbye to Valenciennes. I have seriously really, really enjoyed my time here. It’s been wonderful. I’ve had two good companions and I’ve met many people.

I think that when I look back on Valenciennes, the things that will stick out the most will be the members. The members of this ward blow me away! From the old ones to the recent converts. They’re all so solid and they’re all so devoted. I think I owe them a lot. Their strong faith is inspiring to me and it reminds me why I’m here and what I’m to be doing. I think I’ll especially remember my birthday when we were porting. We got a lot of slammed doors in our faces and the people seemed to be in an extra grumpy mood that day. I didn’t express it outwardly, but each time that would come, I would feel slightly down inside. And then I’d get a call from a random member (or members) in the ward wishing me Happy Birthday! They kept my spirits up that day.

I’m thankful that I got to serve here in Valenciennes. It’s been a wonderful chapter on my mission. I know I still have people to meet and people to serve, experiences to live and things to learn.

What an exciting prospect.

Sincerely,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Mission

 

One response to “Go West, young man!

  1. Jason Filley

    December 3, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Finally you are going to the real France. I spent most of my mission in Normandy. Brest (furthest city west), Lorient, Rennes. All great Villes. Enjoy your time on the coast and eat some coqui st. Jacque for me. Best place to be for Christmas, you will love the food.

    ETTE!

     

Leave a Reply

 
