RSS

The Plan of Happiness

19 Mar

It’s been about a week since we visited a referral we received from a member and met him for the first time. He’s probably in his forties and one of the first things you’d recognize is that the right side of his body is slightly paralyzed. He told us about how he had a stroke about a year ago and how since then he’s been working to recover.

We visited him a few times during this past week and had the opportunity to begin teaching the Plan of Salvation. We taught him about the Pre-Existence and how there was purpose to this life. We talked a lot about how God’s plan is a plan of happiness and how we strive to return to live with him again.

It was really cool to see the change in him. When we explained those principles, his face lighted up. He told us about how even though he has faith in God, he’s often wondered in the last year if there really is happiness in this life; and if there is, where is it?

We were more than happy to tell him that it does exist and that it’s within living the gospel principles of Jesus Christ.

I’ve been studying a lot in 2 Nephi lately and reading a ton about Isaiah’s and Nephi’s prophecies. A theme that seems to be common in those chapters is how the Lord will sustain those who place their trust in him. For me, I’m so happy to have the knowledge of the Plan of Salvation in my life. I know where I came from and I know where I’m going. It broadens my perspective, and with that, I can truly see how my trials and burdens are only a “small moment.” At the end of the road there’s a light. And beyond that light there’s a road of peace and joy that has no end because it is eternal. :)

With that in mind, I understand why we sometimes call it the Plan of Happiness rather than the Plan of Salvation. The greatest joy is seeing others discover that for themselves. And I think our new investigator felt that the other day. Thankfully, we’ll get to see him a few times this upcoming week. And, in fact, he’s said he’ll be baptized April 21st!

That’s probably been the best experience of the week, and it was certainly something that I’ve reflected on the last few days. So I’ll leave you with that. And can you believe that conference will be here so soon? Where does the time go?!

“Time flies on wings of lightning; we cannot call it back.”
Elder Saul Marquez

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Mission

 

Leave a Reply

 
