RSS

Pilli Pilli

30 Jan

I’m once again low on time to write. But I thought I’d share a funny experience.

A member named Marco likes to cook us chicken all the time. He always puts in an African spice called Pilli Pilli.

“Elder Marquez does not like the Pilli Pilli!! HAHA!!”

He says that every week haha. (I actually don’t mind it. I’ve gotten to the point where I can eat spicy food and even sometimes enjoy it).

Anyway, he cooks the chicken with the Pilli Pilli. But you’re not supposed to eat the Pilli Pilli. Well, I took a bit and the next thing I knew, my mouth was on FIRE. And then my throat. And then my stomach. Everyone said that my face turned purple instead of red hahahaha. So it burned forever. And so I ate some oranges, hoping that the juice inside would calm it down. But instead the acid in the oranges just made it worse.

And now I really don’t like the Pilli Pilli.

The funny thing was, we went to one of our investiagtor with the baptismal date’s house. She was there along with her entire family (cousins and everyone). We asked her if Pilli Pilli comes from Africa.

“Pilli Pilli?! Il faut pas manger!!” YOU MUST NOT EAT IT!! “You will kill yourself!”

So then I told them that I ate it that morning. And. They. Laughed. SO. HARD.

“HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!! YOU KNOW HOW THAT BURNED GOING IN?! IT HAS TO COME OUT!!! HAHAHAHAHA!!!!”

Oh boy.

Lesson learned: Don’t eat African spices that old Peruvian men named Marco give you.

Sincerely,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Mission

 

One response to “Pilli Pilli

  1. Emily Judd

    January 30, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Thank you for the LAUGH!! We enjoyed it!! keep up the good work!
    Love,
    The JUDD FAMILY

     

Leave a Reply

 
