RSS

It Snows in Brussels!!

19 Dec

It started Friday night. It was raining as it has been all week. We were on our way to a rendez-vous when we passed an electric sign that read 1°.

“Just one more degree and it’s snow,” I said to Elder Smith.

We got to our rendez-vous and we started talking with the family when giant white globs of frozen death bombs started falling from the sky. La Nieve. Or La Neige. Dun dun dun.

We ran outside, tried to catch the snow on our tongues and then our hands froze. It hurt.

And then I walked home and I kept trying not to slip on the sidewalk. I made it without injury.

Then we went to Parc Cinquentenaire to play football. There was snow on the field but we still played. I kept slipping but I thankfully didn’t fall.

And then yesterday it rained and then it slushed and then it snowed and then the clouds were gone and the snow melted.

And then last night we walked around Brussels to go sing Christmas carols to members. And it started again. Giant white death bombs of frozen fury. They landed on my head and it was cold and I said, “What kind of magic is this?” And then I looked up and noticed that I was at the European Union. Mother Nature doesn’t respect the European Union. She snows on the European Union.

And then. And then. And then.

:)

So, yes, it snows in Brussels! I’m not convinced I like the snow yet. It’s awfully cold outside and even though them Arizona summers are stinking hot, at least I’m not being attacked by those white globs of frozen fury! But at the same time… it is pretty cool. The first night it snowed, there was a weird color outside the window. All the light from the street lamps was reflecting off the snow that was falling and that was on the ground. It was pretty legit!!

Christmas is coming up! It’s going to be weird spending it away from family, but I’m excited all the same. Our mission President said THAT WE CAN WATCH A DISNEY CARTOON FOR CHRISTMAS!!!!!!! :,,,,)

*Angelic chorus*

We shall be watching TOY STORY 3 with the bishop’s family Christmas Eve. Wooo!!!!!! (As we eat good old Portugeuse food, mind you. I’ve come to realize that they know how to eat well in Portugal!) Christmas morning I’ll be going to church for an hour and then I’ll get to call home. I’m especially excited for that. :D And then maybe a “chillaxing” Christmas dinner with the rest of the missionaries. We shall see.

But I wish everyone a Joyeux Noël! And I want to say thanks for all the stuff I got for Christmas from the Hansens and the letters I got from the young women back home. You are all awesome. :)

And, of course, don’t forget that it’s not Xmas. It’s CHRISTmas! So make it that.

I won’t be home for Christmas,
Elder Saul Marquez

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Mission

 

One response to “It Snows in Brussels!!

  1. Lara Johnson

    December 19, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Elder Saul! Was this your first time seeing snow?? How fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
