RSS

October Fête

26 Sep

Fête n. The French phrase for par-tay!

I’m SooOOooOOoOOoOOoo excited for OCTOBER!!!

October starts this Saturday and it kicks of with CONFERENCE! Ahh!!!!!!!! I can’t believe how excited I am for conference. It’s ridiculous. It might have something to do with that fact that we’re going to have a BAPTISM this Saturday too! Right in between sessions. :D

Elder Garcia met this El Salvador girl (about 30 years old) through members when he used to be here. When he left, he visited the members one last time and she was there. He offered a prayer and after the prayer she told him, “You’ prayer really touched me. You’re a great example to me and I’m going to start going to your church.” Well, she did. And while Elder Garcia was serving in France, the others who were here taught her. And when we got here she was ready for baptism. We set a date a couple weeks ago and now it’s already coming up this week. It’s very exciting! Of course, Elder Garcia is beyond happy that someone he found is going to be baptized.

Even though I never really taught her, I’m still super happy to see her so happy. She can’t wait for her baptism! But I have more good news. :) I got word that the lady I taught in Meaux was baptized last week. The entire ward was apparently there and the Spirit was strong from what I hear. When I heard the news I just couldn’t stop smiling. I’m so blessed to have been able to see the change that the gospel brought to her life.

Annnd there are more reasons why October is going to be so great! The zone leaders have a baptism too. It’s in two weeks. I taught this guy, like, twice on exchanges. He. Is. So. Legit. I sit by him during priesthood and he’s just totally into it. He’s from Cameroun. So I’m pumped for that day too.

Also, October is the month of Halloween!!!! Which means I get to dress up in my Harry Potter ties all month hahaha. And Halloween is on a P-Day which means super super fun stuff. :D And my birthday is this month.

AND we’re having some barbeques with members in the next few weeks….

And I think that’s mostly it…

Oh, wait: SIX MONTH MARK!!!

So if you can’t tell, I’m excited. :D This month is going to be fun.

Also, thanks for all the letters I’ve gotten in the last couple weeks. I have letters for Brother Miner, Hillary, Lara and Brother Dawson. Hopefully I’ll send those off this week. Hopefully it doesn’t take ten years again.

Sorry this entry is so scatter brained. There’s just a lot of good stuff going on. Just to clear up some confusion, though, I’m still in the France Paris Mission. Our mission is HUGE. It covers Northern France, Luxembourg and the French speaking part of Belgium. So even though I’m in Brussels, I’m still in the France Paris Mission. And this Spanish thing is only a temporary thing from what I understand. In fact, I was just in Paris a couple days ago (Elder Garcia had legality in Angers again).

Mischief Managed!
Elder Saul Marquez

*coughtcoughecoughmcoughpcoughlcoughecough*

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2011 in Mission

 

2 responses to “October Fête

  1. Gary A. Smith

    September 26, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Elder Marquez,

    You are experiencing the joys of the Lord’s work and seeing the Holy Ghost’s influence on the lives of individuals. Continue to seek the spirit as you press forward in His service.

    President Gary Smith

     
  2. Reena

    October 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Haha oh Saul, you and Harry Potter! You will not believe what I dedicated to you during the last HP marathon at Lara’s house. And I’m sad that you’re gone because no more joint 007 parties. :( Hopefully, once you come back, those will start again! :D Take care!

     

Leave a Reply

 
