RSS

Unpleasant Not Fun Things

12 Sep

Most of my week was spent out of our area this week so I don’t have too much to say.

But I thought I’d share this with y’all.

So it started Tuesday night. There was a small pain in the back of my right leg. I didn’t think too much about it, I just figured that it was sore from something. But then the next morning I woke up and it hurt a lot. It hurt so much that I could barely walk. Not only that, but we were heading down to France that day to go do Elder Garcia’s French legality.

Well, as the day went by, it got better. By the time we reached Paris it wasn’t really bothering me anymore. Then we took another train down to Angers which was another hour or two. I wasn’t worrying about my leg too too much at this point.

That night, after about maybe an hour of sleep, I woke up and my leg hurt so so so so so much. More than it had before. At about five in the morning, I finally fell asleep (still in pain). I woke up that morning and my leg still hurt SO MUCH.

I got a blessing and then we decided to head out to the hospital. I went into the emergency room and they got me in pretty quickly. I thought it’d be a pretty quick check up. But NO.

First problem: Describing it all in French. That was kind of hard but I managed it in the end. Then they made me do some unpleasant things that had nothing to do with my leg. Very unpleasant not fun things. And then they came in and took my blood for some reason. And then they left the needle in my arm for three hours. And then they took a radio scan. And then they sent me to a waiting room. And then Elder Gilmour (one of the elders we were staying with) came in and waited with me. And then the doctor came in and told me I could go and wrote me a prescription. SO now I have drugs, but I don’t really know what they’re for. I think it’s for the pain?

By the time I left, my leg was feeling better. I’m pretty sure it was just a pinched nerve.

Then when Elder Garcia went to do his legality, they told him that they weren’t ready for him yet and to come back in two weeks. Ha ha. SO we’re going back in two weeks. Ha ha oh well. It’s one of those memories that I’m pretty sure I’ll look back on and laugh about.

Elder Cheel was there too. After the long hospital day, he and I went contacting for a little while. It was fun because we both barely know French ha ha. but we gave out a Book of Mormon so it was all good (that was Elder Cheel’s first time placing a Book of Mormon!)

Yeah, so don’t worry about my leg. It seems fine now. I thought it was kind of funny. I like what Elder Gilmour said.

“Who would have thought, that you, coming from Belgium, would be stuck in a hospital, in Angers, with a Scotman?”

Ha ha ha. (Elder Gilmour is from Scotland).

Voila.
Elder Saul Marquez

Glad to hear about Mitch.  Hope he has a good time in Honduras.  I hope he has a good time in the MTC too.  I’m sure he’ll love it!

Hey, make sure the family is praying for a temple in France since conference is coming up.  And thanks for the prayers with the languages.  They’re slowly coming.  President told me to ask people from back home to pray for me. :P

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Mission

 

Leave a Reply

 
