RSS

Hablas Espanol? Nope. French? Nope. Hello Belgium

29 Aug

So much has happened in the last few days, it really feels like a long dream.  I guess that’s part in due to the fact that I woke up Saturday morning with a cold which escalated into a small fever.  It was very miserable.  The fever was gone by yesterday morning but I still have a bit of a cold.  It’s very very annoying but I’ll get over it soon enough.

I guess the craziness started last Friday.  We met with our investigator who’s agreed to be baptized.  When she opened the door, it was obvious that something wasn’t right.  There was something off in her eyes.  I initially thought that we might have just woken her up from a nap.  But then it didn’t go away and so I thought it might be that she was sick.  Soon enough it was obvious that there was just something huge troubling her.  We asked her what was wrong and she suddenly started crying.  She didn’t tell us what was wrong, rather she went to another room and came back acting like nothing had happened.
Elder Nelsn and I were originally planning on teaching the Word of Wisdom.  We changed the lesson plan to pain and the atonement.  Elder Nelsn led most of the discussion.  So many details were flying over my head.  The cold was already starting to kick in and I felt super light headed.  Elder Nelsn would look at me to see if I had comments but I really couldn’t think of anything.  Between the French, being sick and the sudden change in plans, I was completely lost.  Finally, at the end, I had the thought to share D&C 10:5  which says, “Pray always, that you may come off conqueror;…” which is my favorite scripture about prayer.  I don’t know if it even fit in with everything that they had been talking about earlier.  I was honestly lost in the entire situation.  But I shared it and told her how every time we’ve visited her, we’ve asked her to pray to know if the church is true.  This time we wanted her to pray for comfort.
I don’t know if that did it.  It was probably everything that had been said.  But she suddenly burst into tears and told us what was bothering her.  It’s been something that has been plaguing her for a while, it seems, something in her personal life.  It was very very sad to see, especially when she asked us if it was her fault.  Imagine that thought running through your head for a year or two.  We know it isn’t her fault, though.  We had a member there with us.  He suggested a blessing.  We quickly explained what a blessing was and how it worked.  She was a lot happier by the end of the lesson.  She shook our hands as we left her home with a lot of force.  I think it was just her way of saying thanks.  We saw her last night again.  We went to Paris with her to attend a missionary concert.  She seems to be doing very well, maybe even excited for the baptism that’s taking place in a couple weeks.
Unfortunately, I won’t be there.  I found out Saturday that I’m leaving Meaux.  I’m going to Louise, which is part of Brussels.  Yup, I’m going to Belgium!  My new companion will be Elder Garcia, the only other Mexican in the mission.  And I’m now a Spanish speaking missionary, at least for the time being.  President Staheli had told me that I might end up doing that; but I had expected it to be later in the mission after I got a better handle on French.  Right now my Spanish is terrible because of French and my French is still pretty weak.  Now I’ll be teaching in both languages.
I’m not sure how I’m going to do this but I just keep the attitude that Nephi has in 1 Nephi 3:7 “And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.”  It must be possible.  It’s going to be hard.  Elder Garcia and I will be white washing the area (both of us will be new there).  Wish me luck?
Yesterday was pretty sad.  I’m sad to say goodbye to Meaux.  Our investigator seems pretty sad too.  She says she doesn’t want to think about it!  I’ll see her one last time on Tuesday.  I’ll be heading up to Belgium on Wednesday.
In other news, these are the people who are included in my large stack of letters that I need to send (which probably won’t be out for even longer now that I’m moving in a couple days): Reena, Wesslee (did you ever end up getting your call?), Lara, Jacqueline, Mundo, Russell…. Others who I can’t remember.  Sorry it’s been taking so long!!  But I hope you’ll all hear from me soon and I hope to hear from you soon too. :)
Wish me luck!  Here goes Chapter Three in the mission: Brussels.
And thus it is.
Elder Saul Marquez
ADDRESS CHANGE
Bonjour mes amis.  J’ai une nouvelle adresse!!
Les Missionnaires
Elder Saul Marquez
106, Ave. Marechal Joffre
1190 FOREST
BELGIUM/BELGIQUE
Merci! :)
Elder Marquez

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Mission

 

Leave a Reply

 
