RSS

Château-Thierry and Other Things

15 Aug

So our area has gotten HUGE. Much larger than is was before, which is both a blessing and a curse.

It’s a blessing because since our area got larger, we now have a few new investigators. One is from Morocco (I probably spelled that wrong). He and his wife used to be Muslim but I guess have since changed to Christianity. But either way, he’s interested in the church because his boss is Mormon and so he wants the lessons. We met him and his wife and they’re super super nice. They met with missionaries a month or so ago, but since we took over the area for those old missionaries, they haven’t been taught since. We gave him a Book of Mormon and he said, “Yes, the last missionaries told me about this but they didn’t have one with them! I’ve been waiting for this!” We haven’t met with him since then but we hope to soon.

The curse is that it is so super super far away. Way too far in a place called Château-Thierry. And we have a limitation on the car and so it’s near impossible to keep under our usage and still make it out there to teach them. Not to mention that we live forty minutes away from our normal area. And that the ward members of Meaux don’t even live in Meaux but in other surrounding cities! I guess we’ll work it out somehow but it’s all very frustrating.

One cool thing about Château-Thierry, though, is that there are World War II monuments out there. We saw a HUGE American one. It is sweeeeeet! Something happened in that area, we think, but we don’t know for sure. Anyone else know?  It’s kind of cool to be serving in a place where a battle might have taken place.

Our member visits have picked up. Nearly everyone in the ward is suddenly inviting us over for dinner. It’s been great so far! And we’ve been providing them with lots of service. The other day, we built a drive way! :D And suddenly all the little French kids in the ward want to talk to us. Some kid showed me his Dragn Ball Z collection yesterday at church haha.

A couple last things:
Thank you to my Cortina-guests for seeing me and delivering my package.  I saw Sister Economou yesterday!!  That was super cool to see someone from home.  She also had the package for me so dont worry I got it.  Thank you so much for all of those letters and the candy!!!  I need more of those rootbeer ones haha.  There is no root beer in France.  Also thank Uncle Donnie’s family for me.  I’ll write them back soon hopefully. Very cool to see people I know!!!

And Paige, I wish you the best this week. I cant believe your getting married!!  Congrats!  That’s just crazy to me.  But please remember that I was right and that I told you that you would be engaged within two months of me leaving.  I knew because of President Monson and Elder Scott.  They did this. This is the part where I say, “I told you so.” :)

Anyway, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed seeing everyone.  It sounds like it was a nice funeral.  I hope Aunt Porfiria is doing ok and same with Patsy and the rest of the family.  I’m really glad that Aunt JoLeen took us to see Uncle Mike before I left.  It’s sad to hear that he died–I’ve thought about it a lot.  But I know everything will be okay and fine in the end.

Cordialement,
Elder Saul Marquez

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Mission

 

One response to “Château-Thierry and Other Things

  1. President Alyn M. McClure

    August 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Thank you for your faithful service and great reports on your missionary blog. Keep working and serving as hard as you can and the Lord will lead you to His ‘sheep’ and inspire you to teach them the message they will hear. – President McClure

     

Leave a Reply

 
