RSS

Goodbye, President. Hello, Soldes!!

27 Jun

Last week was my first zone conference!! It was lots of fun. I got to see Elders Hunter and Cheel and meet lots of new missionaries. I was introduced in front of everyone by Elder Lee. It was also President and Sister Staheli’s final conference and the last time we got to see them. They shared lots with us. The best were their testimonies. I’ve only had them for one month but I love them SO MUCH. Those two are just amazing. Everyone in the mission loves them. They are easily two of the greatest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. And President Staheli is pretty funny. He likes to drop Space Dog references often, even when I’m not around hahaha.(Space Dog and the Solar Stone Code is the book that Saul wrote when he was in 8th or 9th grade) They’ll be leaving tomorrow and our new President, President Polznanski will be coming in tomorrow. And just like that we’ll have a new president. Smooth transition. I’ll be meeting with President Polznanski this Friday. I have an interview with him. As for President Staheli, he’s returning to Utah. Apparently he’ll be the secretary to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and the First Presidency. He used to be President Hinckley’s secretary.(President Gordon B. Hinckley was the 15th prophet/president of our church and he passed away in 2008.  The First Presidency consists of the current prophet, Thomas S. Monson, and 2 counselors who are also apostles.)

So that’s what’s happening in the mission. Here’s what’s happening in France.

Last Tuesday was Fet de la Musique (Hope I spelled that right). It’s a national holiday in honor of music. Bands, performers and musicians get in the street and play music all day and all night. I got to see a little bit in Paris but we were in the apartment at night so we didn’t get to see too much.

And for the next month there is a thing called SOLDES!!! Where EVERYTHING is on sale EVERYWHERE!!! Whoohooo!!!! Missionaries like getting new clothes during this time but I don’t think I need any right now. Maybe next year. But I think we’re going Soldes shopping for P Day today. Yeah everything is on sale but books…. I think. Which stinks because I wanted to buy Harry Potter but hardcover is like fifty euros which is near a hundred dollars. Messed up. I’m going to have to buy the cheap paperbacks now. Don’t worry. I won’t read them. I just like collecting books. :)

And I got loads of mail this week so I will write everyone back as soon as possible!! I’ll write anyone who writes me back. It just might take some time. But in the letters I got loads of questions so I’ll try and use my last few minutes answering some!

What is your apartment like?
Four people live in our apartment. We’re like one of two apartments in the mission like that. It’s nice and apparently way nicer and larger than all the others. One big room a small kitchen and bedroom. And a toilet and bathroom (toilets have their separate rooms here. They’re not in the same room as the bath).

Have you eaten snails yet?
Nope. I hear they’re good with butter. Haha.

How often do you eat with members?
There are two member families who feed us twice a week. They’re both from Peru so I don’t always get the traditional French food.

What is sleep like?
It doesn’t get dark at night until around eleven so that’s weird but otherwise I sleep here well. In the MTC it took me forever to fall asleep but here I’m out pretty fast. :)

Do you understand anything?
I can get the general point of the conversation but not details. And when people turn to talk to me my lind totally goes blank. Haha it’ll come!

What about Spanish?
The Peruvian members talk to me in French and if I don’t understand it then they speak Spanish but then they start mixing the two languages and I’m totally lost!!

Do you play piano?
When we’re doing emails at the church I have time to play! Haven’t played for anyone yet except one sacrament meeting in the MTC.

Does the ward feel like a normal ward?
No. Because the building is so different. It’s like an old office building turned into a church. And our ward is super small. I counted around forty people yesterday and that included little kids.

What’s France like?
Cities are super old. It’s crazy. But it’s like an antique old. The country side is beautiful. The forests look like something out of a fairytale. Meaux is a bit run down. Some of the apartment buildings there are filthy. I feel like I could be in a third world country when I’m in some of those.

Weather?
HOT. French don’t believe in qir conditioning or drinking fountains. So even once you get inside your apartment, you can’t cool down.

Anyway, got to go!! I found out yesterday that I’m giving a talk in sacrament in a month. Oh boy. Wish me luck.

– Elder Saul Marquez

PS – WILL SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT POTTERMORE;COM IS???!!!???
PPS – Harry Potter posters are popping up. Yay!!! :D Once they take down these transformers posters, I’m sure all of France will be plastered in Harry Potter!!! :D

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Mission

 

One response to “Goodbye, President. Hello, Soldes!!

  1. Aunt Nan

    June 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Why are you hating on the Transformers;) Pottermore … hahaha I’ve got you covered! Miss you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
